Vasanthi best film; Suraj, Lijo Jose, Kani win awards

50th Kerala_State_Film_Awards

Vasanthi best film; Suraj, Lijo Jose, Kani win awards

The film ‘Vasanthi’ was chosen as the best film in the 50th Kerala State Film Awards that announced on Tuesday by Minister for Cultural Affairs A.K.Balan on Tuesday.

While the popular actor Suraj Venjaramoodu won the best actor (male) award, Kani Kusruthi won the best actor (female) award.

Vasanthi directed jointly by brother Shinos Rahman and Sajas Rahman is a story of the survival of a woman crossing all obstacles. Fahad Faasil and Swaika Vijay (Best Supporting actors).

Lijo Jose Pellissery picked up his second best director award for ‘Jallikattu’. Fahad Faasil and Swaika Vijay (Best Supporting actors). The film ‘Vasanthi’ was also bagged the award for the best screenplay. Suraj Venjaramoodu got the best actor award for his scintillating performance in ‘Android Kunjappan’ and ‘Vikrithi’. Kani Kusruti won the best actor (female) award for her portrayal of a woman struggling hard to survive in a deeply religious, patriarchal society in ‘Biriyani’.

Fahadh Faasil won the best character actor award for his role in ‘Kumbalangi Nights’. ‘Kumbalangi Nights’ also won the award for the best popular film. Swasika Vijay won the best character actor (Female) for her role in ‘Vasanthi’.

‘Kenjira’, a film in Paniya language directed by Manoj Kana, won the award for the second best film. Shahul Aliyar won the award for best story for ‘Vari — The Sentence’, a film on death penalty. Prathap. P. Nair won the best cinematographer award for ‘Idam’ and ‘Kenjira’. P.S. Rafeeque won the best adapted screenplay award for ‘Thottappan’, adapted from Francis Noronha’s story. Kiran Das won the best editor award for ‘Ishq’.

Nivin Pauly won a special mention for his performance in ‘Moothon’, while Anna Ben won the same for ‘Helen’ and Priyamvada Krishnan for ‘Thottappan’. Sujesh Hari won the best lyricist award for ‘Pularippoo pole chirichum’ from ‘Sathyam Paranjal Vishwasikkuvo’. Sushin Syam won the best music award for the moody acoustic tunes from ‘Kumbalangi Nights’, signalling a shift from traditional Malayalam film music.

Ratheesh Pothuval won the best debut director award for ‘Android Kunjappan’. The jury headed by Madhu Ambatt pointed out the large number of debut directors this year, constituting a total of 71 films out of the 119 films submitted, which they said bodes well for the industry. Ajmal Hasbulla won the best background music award for ‘Vrithakrithiyilulla Chathuram’. Najeem Arshad won the best playback singer (male) award for ‘Aathmaavile Vaanangalil’ from ‘Kettiyolanente Malakha’. Madhusree Narayan won the best playback singer (Female) for ‘Parayatharike vanna pranayame’ from ‘Kolambi’.

‘Nani’ directed by Samvid Anand won the best children’s film award. Catherine Biji won the best child actor (Female) for the same film. Vasudev Sajeesh Maran won the best child actor (male) for ‘Sullu’ and ‘Kallanottam’.

Jyothish Shankar won the best art direction award for ‘Kumbalangi Nights’ and ‘Android Kunjappan’. Harikumar Madhavan Nair won the best sync sound award for ‘Nani’. Kannan Ganapathi won the best sound mixing award for ‘Jallikattu’.

The best sound designing award went to Sreesankar Gopinath and Vishnu Govind for their work in ‘Unda’ and ‘Ishq’. Liju won the best colourist award for ‘Idam’. Renjith Ambady won the best makeup award for ‘Helen’. Ashokan Alappuzha won the best costume design award for ‘Kenjira’.

Actor Vineeth won the award for best dubbing artiste (male) for ‘Lucifer’ (dubbing for Vivek Oberoi) and ‘Marakkar’ (dubbing for Arjun). Sruthi Ramachandran won the best dubbing artiste (female) for ‘Kamala’. Brinda and Prasanna Sujith won the best choreography award for ‘Marakkar’. Famous director Priyandarshan’s son Siddarth Priyadarshan won the special jury award for visual effects for ‘Marakkar’.

Kerala State Film Awards- full list

Best Film – Vasanthi

Second Best Film – Kenchira

Best Actor – Suraj Venjaramoodu (Films: Android Kunjappan Version 5.25 and Vikruthi)

Best Actress – Kani Kusruti (Biriyani)

Best Director – Lijo Jose Pellissery (Jallikattu)

Best Character Actor – Fahad Faasil (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Character Actress – Swasika (Vasanthi)

Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value – Kumbalangi Nights

Best Children’s Film – Nani

Best Screenplay (Original) – Rahman Brothers, Vasanthi

Best Screenplay (Adapted) – PS Rafeeque, Thottappan

Best Child Artist (Male) – Vasudev Sajeesh Mara, Sullu and Kallanottam

Best Child Artist (Female) – Catherine Viji, Nani

Best Debut Director – Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval, Android Kunjappan Version 5.25

Best Music Director – Sushin Shyam ( Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Male Singer – Najim Arshad (Kettiyolanente Malakha- Song “Aathmaavile Vaanangalil”)

Best Female Singer – Madhusree Narayanan(Kolambi- Song ‘’Parayaatharike’)

Best Background Music – Ajmal Hassbulla, Vrithakrithiyulla Chathura

Best Editor – Kiran Das, Ishq

Best Cinematography – Prathap V Nair (Kenchira)

Best Sound Design – Shrisankar Gopinath and Vishnu Govind, Unda and Ishq

Best Sound Mixing – Kannadan, Jallikattu

Best Sync Sound – Harikumar Madhavan Nair, Nani

Best Choreography – Brinda and Prasanna Sujith, Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham

Best Dubbing Artist (Male) – Vineeth (Lucifer and Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham)

Best Dubbing Artist (Female) – Shruthi Ramachandram (Kamala)

Best Makeup Artist – Ranjith Ambady (Helen)

Best Costume Designer – Ashokan Alapuzha (Kenchira)

Best Art Director – Jyothish Sankar (Kumbalangi Nights and Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25)

Special Jury mention – Anna Ben (Helen), Nivin Pauly (Moothon), Priyamvadha Krishna (Thottapan)